Painting a Homemade Crib Board

painting-largeggpascrib-largeA couple years ago, with the help of my father, I made these two Adventure Time themed crib boards. I was inspired to make them after Dad showed me his great grandfather’s homemade crib board from 1896; made out of a piece of harness leather.
I started by sanding all sides of the wood with an electric sander, then routed the edges.
router-large

holes-largeI digitally designed the faces and transferred the prints to the wood with carbon copy paper; then painted the faces and lightly varnished them, and then Dad began drilling the 734 holes (much more work than you would ever expect!).adventuretime-crib-large

 

I think the finished products turned out great!

Leave a Reply

