A Lily Collage

The Lily has always been a favourite of mine, not only because of its natural beauty but also because my grandmother’s name was Lillian; but I knew her as Grandma Lil, and the Lily flower always reminded me of her.
The Prairie Lily is also the Saskatchewan provincial flower, and every summer I could find them growing around my grandparents’ cabin up at Turtle Lake. I learnt at an early age that the wild Prairie Lily is a protected species, which means that it is very illegal to pick.

lily-collage

I made these Lily paintings as a Christmas present for my sister in-law, who had mentioned something about liking a yellow and grey color pallet. Fun fact, I painted these with a broken finger, and I don’t think they turned out too bad under the circumstances!

One thought on “A Lily Collage

Leave a Reply

